So it begins…

My journey into the blogosphere.

Yeah, I know, that’s a pretty cliché and/or cheesy opening.  The fact remains, however that aside from reading the occasional blog post and commenting here or there on a topic that interests me, I’m fairly new to this.

So, where to start…

My name is Dustin.  No, no, no, that’s too plain. 

I’m from Logan, Utah.  Guck, no one cares about that!

I am a writer.  Almost…needs something else.

Hello, my name is Dustin, and I have a writing problem.

In all seriousness though, I do enjoy writing, and to author a (series of) book(s) has been a dream of mine for years.

I penned my first chapters in a delightful little café called Citrus and Sage (R.I.P.).  The manuscript shined.  You know the golden glow that a work of legendary art beams.  Well that was my writing.  I waltzed into my first critique group, passed the papers out and waited in baited anticipation for two weeks for the results.

Of course I didn’t know how to write and knew I had a lot to learn, but my chapters couldn’t have been that bad, could they?

Two weeks passed and I scrambled into my group waiting to hear the glowing praise that’d surly come my way.  Little did I known that I’d entered the crucible.  The Cache Valley branch of the League of Utah Writers was notorious for its brutally honest, soul crushing critiques.  I left that evening with my spirit near broken and my glowing chapter bleeding red ink.

Now, here we are, two years later.  My book is finished (looking for an agent) and my writing has improved near exponentially.  Am I perfect…absolutely not.  I never will be.  I still don’t know how to write and still have a lot to learn.  But at least I can lean back now and give proper advice to shiny eyed noobs who wander into my group with their own glowing pieces of cannon fodd…er…artwork.

So, what can you expect from me.  Why bother to continuing reading this blog after that egregiously long story?  Well, you’ll…umm…I can…I…I like fluffy kittens, that’s why.

Periodically, I’ll post honest book reviews, writing tips, commentary on the game of Go, whatever I’m thinking about, how not to use grammar (not in actual articles, but evidenced in my ignorant disregard of such) and of course, fluffy kittens.

Now to those of you who made it this far, welcome.

3 thoughts on “So it begins…

  1. Way to go, brother! You’re on your way. Please remember me when you’re rich and famous….mostly the rich part, though. 🙂

  2. Well, you’ve already accomplished more than I have in the writing field, and I have been at it professionally for 33 years. So if you love it, DO IT. If you did it as a bucket list item, then I would leave it alone because it can be like the difficult taskmaster described in the new testament– it tries to reap where it sows not!

    So, “Carry on, young squire.”

Leave a Reply

