A New Prescription

Last week I received a new prescription for my glasses.  It’s been six years, and with each, I’ve noticed my vision worsening.

It’s quite amazing how clear things are now.  It’s like the difference between a DVD and Blu-ray (with my normal vision being VHS).  The mountains are crisp and clear, trees no longer look like globs of color and I’m not worried about driving at night.

Oft times, you reach a point in a project where your vision blurs, and you find yourself unable to notice simple details.

Sometimes a character doesn’t quite agree with you, or the story veers off course.  The longer this goes on, the more frustration grows and less clear the road.  Relax, clear your vision with a walk, vacation or separate project and you’ll be amazed at the change in vision.

I recently hit a snag in a middle grade story I’ve been working on, and each word felt like I was writing myself into a corner.  I didn’t know what the problem was and frustrated over every dead-end chapter.  I finally set the project aside for a few weeks and I worked on something else.  After clearing my head, I immediately pinpointed where my story derailed.  The answer was obvious, how could I have missed it?

If a project struggles, then work on something else, and come back with a clear mind, thankful for the change in prescription.

Leave a Reply

